Social Studies


How was the iroquois confederacy structured

2 Answer

  • "The structure of the government of the Iroquois nation consisted of a council of 50 chiefs who met once a year to settle disputes and create the customs and laws of the confederacy.┬áThese laws were codified on strings of wampum to aid recitation and became known as the Book of the Great Law."

  • The Iroquois confederacy first consisted of five tribes, called the Five Nations, or the people of the longhouse, and it included the Mohawk, Seneca, Cayuga, Oneida and Onondaga tribes. In 1722, the Tuscarora joined, and the confederacy became known as the Six Nations.